RadioMilwaukee’s Diggin’ with the Architect

Icon

Just digging around on the internet

WTF: Obama’s Camp stops Colbert Campaign to Get On Ballot

obama

Now I am officially angry especially if this is true. Maybe the reason that Colbert did not get on the ballot is because of someone from Obama’s camp pressured South Carolina Democratic to prevent Colbert to be put on the ballot. You got to be kidding me. Are you that threatened by a comedian? This is what I am talking about. No one wants to have a true, honest and fair campaign. Colbert, or anyone else, has to right to run for president and to be on any ballot if they follow the rules. This country is about choices, and the status quo is trying to limit our choices even if it is a comedian.

Two prominent supporters of Sen. Barack Obama’s presidential campaign in South Carolina called state Democratic Party officials urging them to oppose putting comedian Stephen Colbert’s name on the primary ballot, according to party officials and Obama supporters with knowledge of the calls…

At least one member of the executive council, who requested anonymity, told CNN he felt “pressured” by former State Superintendent of Education Inez Tenenbaum to oppose Colbert from being placed on the ballot.

Obama, I hope this not true. This is what the public is sick of. At least Colbert took the high road in this situation:

“I am shocked and saddened by the South Carolina Democratic Executive Council’s 13-to-3 vote to keep me off their presidential primary ballot,” Colbert said. “Although I lost by the slimmest margin in presidential election history–only ten votes–I have chosen not to put the country through another agonizing Supreme Court battle. It is time for this nation to heal.

“I want to say to my supporters, this is not over. While I may accept the decision of the Council, the fight goes on! The dream endures! … And I am going off the air until I can talk about this without weeping.”

Maybe this video could explain this whole situation how it came to be.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

p.s.: You still suck South Carolina Democratic Party!

Filed under: politics, video, , , , ,

One Response

  1. Peter Macdonald says:

    Why I post on Red Sox Blog 11-27-07
    Written by Peter Macdonald 465 Packersfalls rd Lee NH 03824 603-659-6217
    You may not be NH residents. You are U.S. citizens and Veterans give their lives for citizens no matter what state they come from. NH has violated the law and Constitution to inflict pain and suffering on my family and me because I volunteer my time to help a Madbury NH family that the selectmen openly brag about destroying residents they do not think belong in their town. I had never met this family before they became so desperate they asked for my help because of a letter to the editor that I wrote. I do not even live in Madbury NH. I am 100% disabled. I was injured three times during my tour. Twice during combat related missions during the Vietnam Conflict. My PTSD was diagnosed only this past year because I never talked about my experiences until I wrote a book and they became public. I have relived my Convoy’s as an American Advisor and my first kill every day since my return in 74. I just never believe any one needed to know the dirty parts of a conflict. We as veterans are not fighting for you (people we do not know) we are fighting for our nation and the freedom it brings.
    I do not ask people to put them selves in harms way. What Veteran’s give the U.S. can never be explained. What we did and the lives we lived over there is not possible for you that have never served to conceive. When newspapers and media feel that the words of a disabled veteran being tortured by the NH courts and government to silence his free speech is not worth informing the public we as a free nation no longer exist. I have violated no laws. What I ask people to do is talk about me to your elected officials, letters to your editor or blogs, I continue to help this Madbury family because they could be any of you. Freedom is worth fighting for and I can not let what so many Veterans that gave over the history of the U.S. be diminished by illegal government acts.
    I use the RD blog because I used them as a crutch during my tour. If you Google my name and Lee NH you can read my letters in full. Peter Macdonald Sgt USMC Semper Fi

Leave a Reply

