RadioMilwaukee’s Diggin’ with the Architect

Icon

Just digging around on the internet

Vinyl Lust

cdvinyl

As some of you know, I love my vinyl. I have over 1,500 records. You can’t beat the feel of vinyl. The artwork is amazing. It is much better than those coasters called CD’s. I found a couple of interesting articles over at Wired.com. The first one is entitled “Vinyl May Be Finl Nail in CD’s coffin”. It discussed the rise of vinyl records, while CD’s are on a declined. It was supposed to be the other way around. CD’s were supposed to killed the vinyl record.

As counterintuitive as it may seem in this age of iPods and digital downloads, vinyl — the favorite physical format of indie music collectors and audiophiles — is poised to re-enter the mainstream, or at least become a major tributary….

“I’m hearing from labels and distributors that vinyl is way up,” said Ian Connelly, client relations manager of independent distributor alliance IODA, in an e-mail interview. “And not just the boutique, limited-edition colored vinyl that Jesu/Isis-style fans are hot for right now.”

I am very happy to hear this. The other article is about a new hybrid cd/vinyl product. On one side you can play it in a cd player the other side you place it on a turntable and you can play about 3.5 minutes of music. It was created by Optimal Media Production.

Here is a little review:

As for the overall sound quality, I just finished giving the vinyl side of a Sonic Kollectiv VinylDisc compilation a spin, and it sounded decent — not as good as 180 gram, but certainly good enough to warrant consideration from bands and labels looking to offer something new to their customers: a CD that everyone can play, with a secret bonus track in the grooves on top for those music fans who have record players.

How many of you still have a turntable/record player? Do any of you still buy records? If you don’t own a record player, would you consider it with the news about the vinyl record making a comeback into mainstream?

Filed under: Music, technology, , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. requiem1 says:

    Like you, I own close to 2000 records. When I was a kid, I would buy a record, copy it to cassette tape, and then not play the record again unless I had to re-record it. Consequently, many of my older records are still in great shape. I did, however, always keep the cover out because it was always fun to look at the artwork and read the liner notes.

    Now that I’m fully indoctrinated into the digital age, I’m converting my vinyl to mp3s, rather than buying digital sources. In this way, I still get the analogue vibe (read “scratches”) without wearing down my records or styluses. I love vinyl, but I also love hearing my entire catalogue in the car on my mp3 player; it’s a tough call-vinyl vs. digital.

    Anyhow, thanks for posting those articles.

    Cheers

  2. Tarik says:

    That is interesting. Would you still by a vinyl record now and then converted or would you buy th cd or digital download?

  3. requiem1 says:

    Hmmm…my recent buying patterns would indicate that I prefer digitally downloaded music over vinyl; however, I think this is a reflection of my view of current music more than anything else. For the most part, music nowadays lacks the vibe that makes records so much fun. Back in the day, tracks on records seemed to flow from one to the other, allowing the listener to experience different shades of emotion over the course of side A (or side B). Today’s music seems to be driven by the individual song, rather than a mood, and therefore doesn’t really warrant being put on vinyl. Of course there are exceptions, but ultimately I feel today’s music is disposable (meaning it won’t endure in time and space), so why buy something tangible.

    Cheers

  4. [...] 8th, 2007 My man Jay Smooth of Ill Doctrine couldn’t describe the point of my post on Vinyl Lust any [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

